Disaster…

This is how I feel after this morning. The lanyard that I use to haul my flash drive everywhere, caught on the coffee table. Big deal, get a new lanyard, you say. Sure thing, but that’s not the problem. What went wrong was the flash drive, still in the usb port on my computer is now broken. Not just the housing, but the Important Parts, the insides, the guts of the thing.

All my writing, YEARS of it, was contained therein. Yes, my novel I’ve started pimping to agents, its sequel, other random ideas, my fantasy epic that has languished, all of it.

So, why didn’t I have it backed up? I’ve been asking myself that same question all day. Trouble is, I’ve come to the realization that the backup was also contained on the flash drive.

Dumbass.

The Spousal Unit assures me that he can fix it. I have faith. I don’t know if I can stand the raking through drawers in search of random items he cannot name when questioned. I’m not sure I want to deal with the hours of frowning concentration, short answers and general temper tantrums when something doesn’t go well. I’m not sure I can bear the smell of solder. He’s a good boy and he tries, and he wants to succeed.

I want him to succeed too.

But, if it all goes to shit, as I’m afraid it will, I’ve made my peace. With any luck, someone somewhere that I’ve emailed a copy of my novel to will still have it and be able to send me a copy. Or the email I sent it in will still be sitting there, and I can try to retrieve that. The Huge Epic Fantasy Story That Won’t End needed a rewrite very badly. Maybe this is Someone’s way of nudging me in that direction. Well, more of a stinging slap than a nudge.

I can take a hint.

One Response

  1. […] to long commutes and quiet time, the better to percolate  ideas, my dear. Here’s to unbroken flash drives, and Dropbox accounts, so those ideas have a storage […]

Leave a Reply

