Finding a writing group

Since my favorite place to hang out and exchange ideas and advice seems to be dimming by the second, the need to find another forum or group is asserting itself in me. A new page/service I hope will contribute to this is Jon Gibbs’ FindAWritingGroup.com. In this group, Jon is hoping to link together writers and groups from around the world. Since I am searching for a new group with limited success so far, obviously I wish him all the luck in the world with this venture and I bless him for taking it on.

What do I want in a writing group? For me, to many rules and requirements is a huge turn-off. I understand there has to be some structure so everyone gets a fair share of posting and crits in, but set-in-stone regulations stop me before I ever get started. Maybe if I wasn’t working and writing was my only occupation I could devote the time and energy it takes to fulfill those requirements. But I can’t shake that nasty habit of eating, and those darn creditors insist I continue to work at a regular job. Coupled with my desire to start classes again soon and you see understand my limited time will become more scarce.

A writing group that is like a bunch of good friends is a perfect fit for me. I’m talking real friends, the kind that aren’t afraid to tell you your hair looks like crap or ‘did you really leave the house wearing that?’. At the LOL Writer’s forum, that’s what we were, but with me and one other person participating in the homeworks I’m posting every two or three weeks, with random drive-by postings from busy members, it’s not enough. I crave the interaction that comes from someone reading your excerpt, finding the typos and inconsistencies, making suggestions about how to make it better. I love reading other people’s writing and doing the same for them. I could be more in-depth in my crits, often I’m more a cheerleader than anything; maybe that structure I bridle against would help.

At any rate, the search continues. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

