Stagnation…

al22-inertia

 

It’s such an ugly word. The feeling isn’t all that pleasant either. None of my stories are grabbing me by the short hairs and screaming “WRITE ABOUT ME!!!” I wish one of them would. I carry my flash drive with me like a tasliman, sitting down with my lunch at work and reading, tweaking a bit. I spend my drives in my usual imaginary world, having conversations with and among my characters, but does much any of this make it out of my brain and through my fingers onto the drive? Not really. I’m getting frustrated. There’s almost too much that I need to get written down that is already established as fact in my stories… in my mind. Not on ‘paper’. I don’t know where to start and so it all slips away until all I remember is that “I had a good idea about this part but… what the hell was it?!”

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot.

Yeah, yeah, “Just write already, what’re you bitching about?” I can hear you.

Maybe I should just write a bloody cookbook.

2 Responses

  1. I know exactly how you feel. All these great ideas and bits of dialogue running through your head, and then you sit down to write them, and you’re like, “Meh.” I read a great exercise last week to try and jump-start the writing process, and I gave it a whirl. It helped! Sit down and write 20 character traits about your MCs. Even if you don’t use them in the book, it tends to give you a more personal connection with them, and it might tell you things you didn’t know, ultimately leading to a new plot twist. For example, I didn’t know Katie was deathly afraid of spiders, nor did I know she puts a bit of everything on her plate on the fork before taking a bite. Neither of those things are earth-shattering, and I doubt I’ll use them (maybe the spider thing) but just writing them down made me want to write about her. I also had no idea Jay is a hell of a poker player, but it turns out he is. Give it a try, and see if it will help! (((Hugs)))

    • That is an absolutely fan-freakin’-tastic suggestion! That will be something for me to play with this evening or this weekend, as well as some R&R. For once I’m not on call and I can do whatever I want. I’ll be interested in seeing what they have to say to me. I’ll let you know what I find out.
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

