How many stories is too many?

1  I don’t know if anyone else has this problem. I have several stories in the works right now. I know my best bet is to concentrate on one of them and get it done, then move on. Trouble is, my charatcers don’t work on schedule. They bug me randomly and whenever the mood moves them, regardless of whether that’s the story I want/need to work on at a given time. The only time I managed to concentrate on a single story was at NaNoWriMo, because I was on a schedule. Yeah, yeah, I know, I should make myself be on a schedule, just like that. I’ve never been good at sticking with one thing over the long run; my hobbies tend to be cyclical. I’ve made soap, done photography, quilting,  art, writing, gardening, genealogy and other pasttimes. This stretch of writing in the longest time I’ve stuck with it for.. well, ever. SO these are the things I’ve got going on. Help me flip a coin.

  1. Windhorses– Set in a fantasy setting, it follows Rayne, 12 years old, trying to rescue her favorite mare, stolen from her family’s farm. It fits into the Young Adult category fairly well.
  2. untitled sequel to Windhorses– This follows Rayne as an adult, from the time she leaves the farm at 17 and moves to the largest city in the region, through various adventures and misfortunes over a couple of decades. It’ll probably get broken up into multiple volumes, and does NOT fall into the YA catgory anymore. Rayne’s all grown up in this one. This is also the one that refuses to let me end it the way I had intended and I now have two seperate endings, the newest version still under construction.
  3. Guarding Sheep– My NaNoWriMo project. My takes on werewolves, who are in the business of protecting humans, not stalking them on the moors or mauling livestock.
  4. Old Dogs– A contemporary novel, not a hint of magic or paranormal activity in it. It is the story of a thirty-something woman, fresh from a nasty divorce who moves back to the family property. She goes to work for her sister and brother-in-law at their veterinary clinic and meets their neighbor, a widower that is still heartbroken over his wide’s death nearly two years prior. They become good friends.
  5. Various other ideas- Yeah, cool ideas, but if they aren’t talking to me, I’m leaving them alone. I’ve got enough irons in the fire as it is.

So, there’s where I stand. I’d welcome any suggestions, aside from “give up writing.” That’s not going to happen, even if I stopped recording the random thoughts and plotlines that wander into my brain and take up housekeeping. Those thoughts will always be there, I might as well record them.

One Response

  1. That sounds like a question only you can answer, I’m afraid. We all have out own limits, and even then those limits are susceptible to change. For myself I can’t concentrate on more than three during the summer, and only two during the winter.

    But worry not about limits. Write when it’s natural for you and I think you’ll always be happy. 🙂

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

