Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

Since this is my first time participating, I’m trying to get a little strategy going before November 1st actually arrives. First, what to write?

I’m thinking about going with my werewolf story. I already have a lot of notes and know where I want to go with it. Now all I need is characters and a plot. Maybe by cranking out 55,000 words in 30 days one will occur to me. The protagonist will likely be female. I’ll probably lift characters from a fanfic I started writing for Torchwood. Yeah, I know, Torchwood really deals with aliens, but they’ve come against the Fae and a town full of cannibals, But, I digress. There will be a plot, I promise. It may not be very original… but I’m hoping my take on werewolves will be fairly new and interesting. Or at least different enough that it doesn’t read like plagiarism. To that end, I’m refraining from researching any novels already published about werewolves.

I do recommend one werewolf book, though in this case, the main character is actually a were-man. The title is Howling Mad, by Peter David. Ever wonder what would happen if a wolf were bitten by a werewolf? So there’s one possible plot device gone…*VBG*

I have been looking up legends and historical accounts of werewolves, including possible medical explanations. Mere hirstutism will not be enough to make someone a werewolf in my universe. I’m envisioning a society, existing alongside and taking part in ours, but hidden in plain sight, so to speak. And that’s all I’m going to tell you, so NYAH!

Watch this space…

2 Responses

  1. Hello…

    Your blog came up as one to check out…I don’t know how that works but I clicked on something you wrote about getting bit by a dog…and I thought…you should check out my blog. I don’t put that much of my writing in there…but you will see a connection somehow…I think…plus I’m going on my 4th Nano year!

    Over there I’m inkyfingas.

  2. I don’t know how it works either, but I’m glad you visited! I’m happy to have you add my link to your blogroll.
    Thank for coming by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

