The Next Big Thing

old dogs cover 2So, my dear friend and writing buddy Juli Page Morgan tagged me in a blog hop, called the Next Big Thing. The idea is that each person tagged tags five of their friends and we all get to follow the links and discover all these cool writers out there. The procedure is simple, don’t be afraid. Just answer the following questions as I have done and tag five of your writer friends. So, here we go!

What is the title of your book?

Old Dogs

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Honestly, I have always written in the fantasy genre. I tend to visualize actors or other familiar faces in the roles of my characters. When I hit a snag in my never0ending Big Fat Fantasy Novel (that will likely never see the light of day) one of the male characters I visualized being portrayed my favorite celebrity crush, Clive Owen. Writing Old Dogs was an excuse to keep writing a character with this handsome gentleman in mind.

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s (ulp, I never thought I’d admit to writing one) a contemporary romance. But really, it’s about people. Regular people you probably know. There are no death-defying shootouts, no derring-do, just the kind of stuff, good and bad, that happens to all of us.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Well, I’ve already mentioned the male lead I would prefer, and I don’t have anyone in particular in mind for the female lead. The only other actor that would have to participate is Alan Tudyk, since one of my characters is named for him and has his physical description.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A jaded divorcee goes home to the family fold and realizes that all men aren’t evil and that sometimes a new friend is just what the doctor ordered.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took at least three years, with lots of starting and stopping and long periods of inactivity in between. And other stories with different characters interrupting me and demanding I write about them too.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I really was motivated by nothing more than the desire to keep my writing in practice and the opportunity to daydream about a gorgeous British man. I’m easy, I admit it.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I’m pretty sure that readers will recognize members of their own families and friends among the characters of Old Dogs. In a good way, of course!

Old Dogs is available in Kindle and trade paperback formats at Amazon.com and for the Nook at Barnes and Noble.

So, Maria-Feliz Salazar Duran, Susan B. James, Jon Gibbs, and not a novel writer (that I know of, anyway!) but an amazing photographer Vicki Farmer, consider yourselves duly tagged.

One Response

  1. One of the reasons I’ve loved this Next Big Thing blog hop so much is finding out all these interesting things about how a book/WIP came into existence! I think it’s so cool that you ended up with a published novel because of Clive Owen. :) And I do believe that one day Rayne’s story will be published, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

