I did it!!

My book!!!!

After getting positive comments from a few agents but no one willing to take me on (“…we like it but it’s not something that we’re looking for right now…”, “Our readers liked it, but it doesn’t fit our formula for a romance”…) I decided to self-publish through Amazon. It’s already available in a Kindle edition and should be available in print form soon (Print-on-demand through CreateSpace).

While I would have rather gone the traditional route to publication, I’m impatient and I’ve been told by enough people that they enjoyed it and I was unwilling to do a HUGE rewrite to fit the formula set out by a romance publisher. I cringe to think of it as a romance novel, because there’s so much more to it than just the central relationship between Valerie and Daniel. But, I’ll leave you to discover that for yourself, if you care to do so.

Mama needs a new pair of shoes.

4 Responses

  1. How exciting! Are you getting a good response?

    • In less than a month, I’ve sold nearly 30 Kindle copies, a couple of Nook versions and 10 trade paperbacks! The best part is my dad. Mom said he’s called everyine he knows to get them to buy a copy… :-D

      • I TALKED WITH HIM AND YOUR MOTHER YESTERDAY AT OUR CHRISTMAS DINNER. HE IS SO EXCITED. HE HAD A GLOW THAT WAS SO GOOD TO SEE. SURE MISSED SEEING YOU AND THE HUB. GREAT TO KNOW MY NIECE IS DOING SOMETHING THIS OUTSTANDING. SANDY WAS GETTING IT TODAY ON HER KINDLE. HOPE YOU WILL SAVE TIME FOR US NOBODYS LATER IN LIFE. GREAT JOB,

      • Thank you Stan! I wasn’t really expecting this much hububb about my story, but I’m glad everyone is enjoying it. I missed seeing you guys too, but we got to spend time with David’s family so it’s all good. Don’t worry, I’ll always have time for my family. Now if I get a movie deal on the book, I might get a little big for my britches,… no I won’t. Being in the spotlight is something that someone else can do for me. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

