The Doldrums

I was so excited a week or so ago. I was writing like there was no tomorrow, rattling out a few connected scenes for the next installment in Valerie and Daniel’s story. There’s lots more to be written, but it’s not easy like it was. Let me tell you, I was on fire, I was getting great feedback and ideas from my writing buddies on the forum and it was clicking like my knees when I get up in the morning.

Alas, it is no more. I’ve been busy with work and meetings and watching my bank account dwindle between paychecks and my scaly, sulfurous muse has abandoned me for greener pastures, or maybe cooler climes. (It is hotter than Hellfire right now and I hate it.)

What to do?

Well, I’ve fallen back to my old standby, re-reading old stuff. Hell, I’ve got most of what I’ve written pretty much memorized. But, it’s part of the process and it led to a nice online conversation with an old online buddy. His character plays a large role in my fantasy story and I asked him  some questions and gave him examples of what I’ve written to make sure I was doing his character justice.

I think I’m doing okay. Our ‘talk’ got me thinking about the Behemoth Disjointed Fantasy Epic that I’ve been writing for years, and you know what? I got excited about it again.

Which leads me back to my meandering path. When you’re stuck, when the wind has fled your sails and the ocean around you looks like a mirror, do what you have to to get that ship sailing again. Getting away from it for a short while is okay, like I did by setting up a blog for our work-related learning, but don’t take too long getting back to your fiction. Read other stuff, talk about it with like-minded people, harrass your writing buddies, but make youself stay involved. Don’t let the latest wildly-popular-piece-of-shit novel get you down. Get angry, get determined, get writing!

(This has been a public service message from the Off Your Ass and On Your Feet Method of Writing. Send small bills, unmarked, in large quantities. Thank you.)

2 Responses

  1. Hey Debi! I was going through my LiveJournal wondering if maybe I should put it out of its misery and through long meadering it lead me here. I so know how you feel. Ups and down are part of life so why should writing be any different, right? Anyway, going back over my LJ inspired me to keep going- thanks in no small part to your encouraging comments- but yea, the break was needed. So, glad to see your plugging along.

  2. Sorry I haven’t seen this comment until now, Susie! I haven’t been on LJ in forever, and even started my own writer’s forum when the old one stopped… doing anything. A break is needed sometimes. I haven’t written anything in weeks and weeks and I’m wondering if I’m going to tackle NaNoWriMo or not this year. If I do, I have an idea, I just know if I have enough to do the whole thing. I’m glad all my babbling has proven to be at least entertaining. Stop back by soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 410 other followers

